2022 - 2023 Season

page image 3.png

An American Jewish Legacy

Sunday, September 18, 2021 | 4:00 P.M.
Fox Performing Arts Center

A concert celebrating Jewish American composers, including:

Days of.png
  • Concerto in F Major by George Gershwin, with guest artist Neal Stulberg, Director of Orchestral Studies, UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music on piano

  • Concert Suite from Hitchcock’s Vertigo by Bernard Herrmann

  • World premiere of Symphony No. 1: Judaica (Days of Awe) by LA-based composer Steve Rothstein. Commissioned by the Judaic Sacred Music Foundation and conducted by Maestro Tomasz Golka, the Days of Awe symphony features some of the most well-known and beloved melodies of Jewish music tradition. Each of the four movements are based on prayers from the High Holy Days. A composition in the tradition of Tchaikovsky, the rich melodies will delight and inspire music fans. (Pre-concert talk 3:20pm • Doors open 2:30pm)


Neal Stulberg

Steve Rothstein 022.jpeg

Steve Rothstein


"Boats Against the Current..."

Saturday, October 22, 2022 | 7:30 P.M.
Riverside City College Coil School for the Arts
  • Dance Preludes (1959) by Witold Lutosławski

  • World premiere of True Green (13 player version, 2020) by Tomasz Golka

  • Kammermusik #1, Op. 24 #1 (1922), by Paul Hindemith

  • Serenade #10 for winds in B-flat major, K. 361 “Gran Partita” (1782) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Tomasz Golka_132.jpeg

Tomasz Golka



Sponsored by Rena Warren

"With Mirth and Laughter..."

Saturday, February 25, 2023 | 7:30 P.M.
Riverside City College Coil School for the Arts
  • String Quartet #16 in F major, Op. 135 (1826) by Ludwig Van Beethoven

  • Ciranda das Sete Notas (1933) by Heitor Villa-Lobos, featuring principal bassoon Duncan Massey

  • Overture to the ballet “L’amant anonyme” (1780), by Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges

  • Symphony #29 in A major, K. 201 (1774) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sponsored by​


Celebrating Latin American Heritage

Saturday, June 10, 2023  |  7:30 pm
Riverside City College Coil School for the Arts
  • Symphonic Dances from West Side Story (1960), by Leonard Bernstein

  • Three Latin-American Dances (2003), by Gabriela Lena Frank

  • Selections featuring Special guest artist José García, guitar/vocals

Jose Garcia

Riverside Philharmonic • Music Director: Tomasz Golka
P O Box 1601, Riverside CA 92502 • (951) 787-0251 • info@riversidephilharmonic.org