2019 Young Artist Side-By-Side Performance

The Riverside Philharmonic solicited music teachers from schools throughout Riverside County to encourage their students to submit audition tapes for the Side-by-Side concert in April 2019. The resulting group of string and wind instrument youth met with their professional counterparts in late winter to receive encouraging pointers on a solo performance. 

The students’ resulting side-by-side performances with professionals ─ in a stellar venue in front of an appreciative audience ─ may have been a life-changing evening for some of them. The concert most certainly was life-enriching for all in attendance.

Special thanks to Rong-Huey Liu, Principal Oboe and
Executive Director 2018-19 for her leadership on this project! 


Baylee Snyder, double bass; Trenton Ballinger, bass trombone; Dayton Wong, trombone;Vincent Garavito, tuba; Jefferson Martins Xavier, cello; Alexander Youngerman, oboe; Madison Stafford, flute; Rebekah Christine Campbell, clarinet; Hargeet Jammu, violin; Autumn Schmidt, violinNot pictured: Marissa K. Vickrey flute and Doug Herrin, trumpet

Screen Shot 2019-03-26 at 12.26.43 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2019-03-26 at 12.26.53 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2019-03-26 at 12.26.34 AM.pn

From the Side-By-Side Performance at the 60th Anniversary Concert, April 6, 2019, Ramona High School Theater:


Students pictured with musicians from the Riverside Philharmonic who taught the masterclasses before the concert: Eileen Holt, flute; James Bergman, double bass; Rong-Huey Liu, oboe; Scott Sutherland, tuba; Shenhua Hu, violin; and Robert Vos, cello